ATTW Announces 2019 Graduate Research Awards

ATTW is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 ATTW Graduate Research Awards. In our commitment to advancing graduate students in the field, the award’s purpose is to support and advance the research of graduate students in the latter stages of their PhD programs.

Congratulations to the following recipients for their potential contributions to research in technical and professional communication:

Postcolonial Technologies & Magic Language: Critical Discourse of GhanaPostGPS
Edzordzi Agbozo, Michigan Tech

Ways to Move, Ways to Map: Making Space for Neurodiversity in Design
Leah Heilig, Texas Tech University

A Techne of Marginality: Theorizing from Black Minds to Hold White Bodies Accountable
Cecilia D. Shelton, East Carolina University

#MeToo, Multi-Layered Platforms, and Platforms of Power
Sarah Warren-Riley, Illinois State University

The Graduate Research Award recipients presented their work at a featured session at the ATTW Conference in Pittsburgh on Wednesday, March 13, 2019 and were honored at the awards ceremony.

The award selection committee was really impressed with the quality and potential contributions of these research projects as well as the others submitted.

The Association of Teachers of Technical Writing (ATTW) is an active professional organization of teachers, researchers, and practitioners of technical communication. Formed in 1973 to encourage dialogue among teachers of technical communication and to develop technical communication as an academic discipline, the organization boasts an international and interdisciplinary membership. ATTW produces Technical Communication Quarterly, a leading academic journal, and it collaborates with Taylor & Francis/Routledge to publish the ATTW Book Series in Technical and Professional Communication.